Beware the hellhounds who lurk in the shadows for they are so hungry, and you are so tasty.

Author Note: Dark Illusions: The Beginning – Extended Edition has been retold, remade, and redone. The original tale went through the ringer to bring the characters to life, include lost information unknown until this edition, and enrich the entire series with a new dose of vibrancy.

In the darkened city streets of Seattle, Kat finds herself running from an unseen foe. One which sounds like a pack of wolves at her heels. She doesn’t for sure what’s hunting her. What she knows is that when she arrived at home there were men hiding in the shadows, and they were waiting . . . for her. Heart pounding, breath gasping, primal fear driving her, she also knows that whatever hunts her? Can’t catch up.

In the beginning the Awakened were created. Since time began, they have existed. Always there, never seen. Shadows among shadows. Vampires with the ability to shift into wolves, retaining many of the wolf attributes.

This is a tale of the Awakened and a human who got caught in the middle of a war she knew nothing about. A human who may prove to be the start of a new world.

Ready to take a step into the darkness from writer Kimberly Sue Iverson? In this paranormal romantic series, you’ll find the sounds you hear at night . . . aren’t innocent. Dark fantasies and fears collide. Come in if you’re brave. The Beginning is just . . . the beginning.

Series Title: Dark Illusions

1 – Dark Illusions: The Beginning – Extended Edition
2 – Dark Illusions: The Next Chapter – Extended Edition
3 – Dark Illusions: The Final Chapter – Extended Edition

This series is part of the Dark Moon Dynasty Universe. At the bottom of this page you’ll find all the books connected to the DMDU world.

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thriller, Supernatural Thriller, Romantic Suspense, Speculative Fiction, Dark Fantasy

Originally published in January 2012, this new revamped edition contains more information and is much longer than the first. If you’d like to check out the original book bio, the last cover, and any links involved (store links most likely won’t work), I left it up here –

Where to purchase


(If the store you want isn’t listed, manually search on the site itself.)

Paperback can be found at all major retailers and many smaller stores.

Read the first chapter here –

Dark Moon Dynasty Universe (DMDU)

  1. Dark Illusions Series (Vampire – Kat & Julian)
  2. Enchanting the Moon Series (Enchantress – Mila & Stefan)
  3. Dynasty of Moirae series (Lycaen – Kylarra & Verrick)
  4. Eternal Souls Universe series (all of the above, all characters, & more)

If this is email and the form is funky, you can go to to sign up.


Want just the blog posts?
Sign up to receive them direct to your inbox.

Join 2,390 other subscribers
%d bloggers like this: